Henrik Ibsen

May 10, 2006

Henrik Ibsen.jpg
(1828-1906)

Norwegian playwright of international success
Wrote plays about the middle classes and their conditions and problems: “problem” plays: subjection of women, hypocrisy, hereditary disease, seamy politics, and corrupt journalism
Managed to create works of poetry that, under the mask of sardonic humor, express his dream of humanity reborn by intelligence and self-sacrifice.

Hedda Gabler (1890)

“My intention in giving it this name was to indicate that Hedda as a personality is to be regarded rather as her father’s daughter than her husband’s wife.”

Study of a complex, exceptional, unique woman.
Hedda is not a conventional heroine, but a femme fatale.

Quotations:

Hedda-  Yes, dear Judge, my thoughtlessness has had its consequences.
Brack- Unfortunately, our thoughtlessness often does, Mrs. Hedda.

Hedda-  Yes, that’s it, this shabby little world I’ve ended up in.  That’s what makes life so contemptible, so completely ridiculous.  That’s just what it is.

Hedda-  When I look back on it, there was something really beautiful- something fascinating, something brave about this secret comradeship, this secret intimacy that no living soul had any idea about.

Hedda-  Do you find it so hard to explain that a young girl- when it becomes possible- in secret- … That she wants a glimpse of a world that- … that is not permitted to her.

Hedda-  No, no.  don’t ask me to do anything like that.  i won’t look at sickness and death.  let me stay free from everything ugly.

Lovborg-  It won’t stop there.  I know that muc.  And I can’t bring myself to live that kind of life again either.  Not again.  Once I have the courage to live life to the fullest, to break every rule.  but she’s taken that out of me.

Hedda-  I mean, for me.  It’s a liberation for me to know that in this world an act of such courage, done in full, free will, is possible.  something bathed in a bright shaft of sudden beauty… All I know is that Eilert Lovborg had the courage to live life his own way, and now-his last great act- bathed in beauty.  He-had the will to break away from the banquet of life- so soon.

Hedda-  Oh absurdity-! It hangs like a curse over everything I so much as touch.

Brack-  One can usually learn to live with the inevitable.

Brack- But God have mercy- People just don’t act that way!

One Response to “Henrik Ibsen”


  1. Alanna, you might be entertained by reading actress Jane Alexander’s posting in the new blog of the International Leadership Forum, ILF Post (http://www.ilfpost.org) a series of two articles called “The Father of Modern Drama-Part 1” and “Part 2.” She’s one of my favorite actresses and is a great writer as well. Have a read and send her a comment for each one of the two articles. She’d be happy to hear from you.


Leave a Reply

